Reading for a small person

Hello! I’m sorry I’ve been away for so long. From time to time I get busy with life, other hobbies and other concerns. Since my last post we’ve sold our house, packed up, moved to a lovely little seaside suburb, and filled the new place with boxes. We’ve slowly been unpacking, but it’s taking longer than we’d hoped it would, as our snippets of spare time usually get rapidly filled.

Leila, my little one, is now one and a half! She’s really a big girl now. And for the most of this year she’s been doing really well with her sleeping. She’s got into a good routine, seems to go down pretty easily at night and, apart from a few peeps here and there, sleeps through the night.

Last night was something different. I haven’t seen her like this in a long time. She seemed to go down without any trouble, but she woke up at around 11pm (right when Steve and I were tucked up and turning out our lights). She was really upset. Crying and crying. And nothing we could do would settle her. We tucked her in again, gave her her dummy, put on her “musical bug” that she loves to have in bed with her. I gave her a feed. I even brought her into our bed (something we never do), thinking that might calm her down.

Well she did calm down, but there was no sleeping. She was up until 2:30. And then she woke up again at 5:30.

Steve and I are in bits. He’s definitely able to handle getting up early on no sleep better than I am. (He reckons I’m better in the middle of the night than he is.) In any case, I’m desperately hoping tonight won’t see a repeat of all the unsettledness.

I don’t usually do readings for Leila (I do prefer to read for myself or for people who ask me to read for them), but in this case, I had to know. The three main questions I had were:

  • what’s bothering her?
  • what can I do to help?
  • what do I do that makes it worse?

(Trying to at least put some of the reading in my arena. And I’ll also add the caveat here, which I’m sure most of you will take as a given, that this reading was in no way intended to replace any medical advice or steps that we might have to take if it does turn out that there’s something else going on. Funny how we always have to reassure others that we’re not total fruit-loops.)

Anyway:

Leila_Dodal

 

Oh the poor love! There is certainly a lot of strife and change going on for her right now. Leaving the five of swords out for now, the Tower and the Wheel together convey a picture of huge, life-shattering changes. She is growing at a huge pace (two centimetres in two months), and learning all sorts of new words.

(For that matter, the Tower here could also relate to the Tower of Babel, again pointing at all of the confusion and excitement that comes with language-building as well.)

All of the ups and downs she’s been experiencing, are referenced by the wheel. In terms of what we should and shouldn’t do to help her, well, the wheel points to that as well. It’s really important that we both (Steve and I) remain steady and constant for her right now. There is so much going on internally that she doesn’t need any more dramas coming from the outside!

I also am interested in the other symbolic parallels between the Tower and the Wheel:

  • The king on top of the wheel, looks across to the other crown, atop the tower. His look is rather nervous as he sees the other crown being blasted off! (She feels like she’s losing her head sometimes.)
  • The guy falling down the left side of the wheel mimics the guy falling down the left side of the tower. (She’s come so far, it can sometimes feel precarious to be up “so high”, with her body and mind taking her to such new places.)
  • Likewise, the horse, ascending the wheel (who only loosely ties to the figure on the right side of the tower, but oh well) could represent how frustrating it can be for her to see how much effort she has to put into learning new things. It’s bloody frustrating, actually!

And then there’s the five. As soon as I turned it over my first thought was “toothache”. She has been teething lately, with her lower cuspids coming up a few weeks ago. With the sword pushing down, through those two light blue areas, I really couldn’t see this as anything other than one of her upper teeth pushing down through the gums. The red sword makes it look doubly sore.

The cards certainly paint a picture of physical and emotional upheaval. No wonder she wasn’t able to sleep last night!

Jean Dodal Tarot
By Jean-Claude Flornoy
Copyright © 2009 J.C. Flornoy
ISBN: 978-2914820103
(Bought from: Tarot History)

Leave a Reply

