The coming week

Wow, so many decks, so little time. I can’t believe I haven’t written about the Haindl yet! The Haindl, created by Hermann Haindl with his amazing and Germanically-freaky artwork, with symbolism that incorporates (quoting the box here) “many esoteric and religious traditions, particularly Native American, the Holy Grail, the I Ching, Kabbalah and the Runes.”

Rachel Pollack wrote two books about this deck. Two. I have read them, and I don’t doubt that there are immense riches to be gained from referring back to her books every two seconds, but I don’t have the time or the patience to do so these days.

Fortunately if you have a little bit of an imagination there is still a great deal you can get from these cards. And I sincerely do feel that once you are able to “speak the language” of tarot, it really is your prerogative to read the cards any way you choose.

But I digress.

I didn’t have much time really today to dedicate to a reading (the bubba has been sick and putting her down for naps has been an exercise in frustration most days this week). But in any case I grabbed my handy Haindl, gave a quick shuffle, and asked: “what’s in store for me over the next week?”

I drew three cards:

Haindl - three card draw

It was somewhat of a comfort to see the High Priestess front-and-centre here (though I am in full-on Empress mode these days, I still hope that I do keep in touch with my inner High Priestess)! I’ve been trying to make some changes here at home, just some planning, thinking, etc. to make the most of my solo time during the days. Meditation is one thing that I’ve decided I would like to focus on this year (along with family, more reading and writing, as well as tarot), and I see the High Priestess here saying that I’m finally in the right mental state to go forward with this.

She’s flanked by the “Son of Swords” (Prince of Swords) and the Five of Stones (troublingly, “Material Difficulty”). These two cards are certainly “players” in this draw, but you can just see the way she is the commanding presence here.

The Son of Swords card is a double-edged card (hah) here. On one hand he tells me that I’ve currently got my wits about me, and getting into a programme of reading and writing (and learning) is certainly something I’m able to take on right now as well. But when I’m tired and stressed I can also be prone to saying things I don’t mean, and his stern figure (and body language) is also a reminder to me that I need to soften my approach when times are tough. (Especially with him paired with the aloof and remote High Priestess. I need to make sure communication is clear and honest.)

I’d love to say I didn’t know what the Five of Stones was on about here, but I’m afraid I do. I’ve been home looking after the little one for a year-and-a-bit now, and for the most part I have been pretty restrained. But last week I had a little spending blow-out (not crazy, but very much beyond my means) and I have been feeling pretty guilty about it. Trying to figure out a way of generating even a small income is something that’s been on my mind lately as well.

Last year I was floating the idea of going into tarot reading as a business, and to be honest the idea never really sat that well with me. For one, reading tarot feels like a human gesture to me – you know, making a connection and helping people. But I’m loath to just give free readings willy-nilly (though I do love the Aeclectic Tarot exchanges), as the potential for burnout (especially with my limited spare time) is high.

Perhaps reading for tips is a better approach – I offer a free reading, and in exchange the querant can tip me whatever they think the reading was worth.

What do you think? Pie-in-the-sky? Or is there something to it?

Haindl Tarot
By Hermann Haindl
Copyright © 1990 US Games Systems, Inc.
ISBN: 0-88079-465-8
2 thoughts on “The coming week

  1. It can be a challenge to make ends meet with one income but it feels so good when you get by every month. it sure does enhances your creative skills 🙂
    I never was attracted to the Haindl but I’ve said the same thing about the Morgan Greer and now it has become one of my go to decks. So who knows what will happen 🙂

    • Ellen, so true! It always does feel like a real achievement when you stay on budget, hehe.

      Funny you mention the Morgan Greer… I feel the same way about that deck. I have a copy but it feels so strange to use, even though it’s really one of the top “iconic” decks out there.

Leave a Reply

