Positivity, please

I’ve been tossing up a bit on whether to continue with the Old English deck. I’m just a bit bored with it, even though I still do find its little mini pictures on the pips rather charming. That in itself is funny, considering the whole reason why you would do a ‘One Deck Wonder’ is to get beyond the surface impression of a deck and gain a deeper understanding of it. I’ve been eyeing up my copy of the Dark Grimoire Tarot, which I have been meaning to get cracking with, and also the Sacred Sites. (Coincidentally the artists for these decks are brothers; Michele Penco illustrated the Dark Grimoire, while Federico Penco did the Sacred Sites. They both have a wonderful style: whimsical but never veering off into the too-cartoony feel that so many of the Lo Scarabeo decks seem to have.)

Anyway, I digress. I was looking at these decks as part of a little exercise where I was thinking about so-called frightening or disturbing cards. I think I’m going to write a post about it shortly, so I won’t go into it here. Needless to say, most decks usually have at least one card that feels a bit off (or even off-putting). But I think that adds to the vitality of a deck, to the emotion of your response and the things it makes you face up to.

Actually, that leads quite nicely into the cards I drew today:

Queen Swords - Ten Swords - Four Batons

I got the ten of swords yesterday in the same position (though wedged between a five of cups and ace of swords). Interesting to see it again, and again with another swords card. Is trouble brewing? I can only hope I can weather any upcoming stormy seas.

Still – I like that four of batons card, with the mother peahen and her little chicks. It’s about as far away as you can get from the Queen and the ten. She looks like she’s getting ready to join the fray, with her sharpened sword at hand. Perhaps that’s my message for the day: to not be so combative. To work towards a bit of harmony in the home.

It’s not that things are even particularly bad at the moment; it’s just that I can sometimes say something without thinking (especially when I’m tired, which is a lot of the time lately) and not realise that I’ve been a bit sharp. I’m realising more and more that Steve and Leila do rely on me to keep a good mood and energy in the house, and that conversely if I’m in a bad mood it can really bring the whole party down. Which is not to say that they are both reliant on me emotionally, but for example on an evening when Steve gets home tired, or if Moo’s cranky, or feeling vulnerable, my response (sharp like the Queen, depressed like the Ten, or peaceful and maternal like the Four) can totally set the tone for the rest of their day…

Old English Tarot
By Maggie Kneen
Copyright ©1996 by US Games
ISBN: 978-1-57281-040-2
Leave a Reply

