The benefits of a good snooze

I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be able to keep up with the AT Deck of the Week, what with being due any day now! I’ll see how I get on, but would like to still try and work with a different deck each week, though I can’t see myself keeping up with a daily draw – especially in the early days and weeks of looking after a newborn!

That said, I am very much enjoying being able to spend a bit of time with one deck (though only one week can at times feel like I’m just scratching the surface, as was the case with the Wild Unknown tarot), and often find that what I learn while working with one deck can often carry over to the next, even though the imagery and system might be completely different. I keep changing my mind all the time about which deck I’d like to work with next. The Vision Quest is an old favourite that I haven’t used for a little while, as is the Cosmic Tarot, and I still do want to get back to the Rosetta.

There have also been a few more arrivals in the post:

Grimaud, NTotMS book, Place Buddha

Vintage Grimaud deck, Navigators Tarot of the Mystic SEA book, and Buddha Tarot by Robert Place

(I purchased the “possibly pre-60s” (but still vintage) Grimaud Tarot de Marseille, and Place Buddha decks through the AT Trade forums. (That place is dangerous!) The book, which accompanies the deck that arrived last week, was bought second hand through Amazon Marketplace.  I’ve had the Buddha deck previously, and then traded it away. Still have the companion book though, and later I thought I’d been a bit hasty in trading the deck, so have managed to find another.)

Want a closer look at the Grimaud? Here’s more:

Grimaud Ancien Tarot De Marseille

Grimaud Ancien Tarot De Marseille

The LWB that accompanies these cards is quite fascinating. There are some really different spreads and approaches in there that I am looking forward to examining in the near future.

In the meantime, here’s today’s daily draw:

High Priestess – The World – 10 Wands

DW 23.01.13

High Priestess – The World – 10 of Wands

So often I’m finding with these three card spreads that I take the centre card as the core, and look to the left and right for opposing influences.

In this case, The World card, which depicts an old man sitting in his chair, snoozing while reading, glasses on his lap, books falling off his knees, pocket watch hanging out, and pipe safely still held between his two hands, feels central.

In his retirement, “golden years” or what-have-you, he’s no longer struggling to “achieve”, he’s just doing what feels pleasurable, which often is something people feel they have to “earn” before they can “indulge” in it. But he’s just enjoying the simple pleasures of life. No guilt, no worry. Just a gold old Sunday afternoon snooze.

(A state, I might add, that I’m currently in: finished up with work, massively pregnant so I can’t really do much around the house, etc. Under orders to just relax… it’s wonderful.)

In contrast is the 10 of Wands, which depicts the guy who never stops working. His shoes chafe, his back aches, and there’s always one more stick to pick up. I’m not even sure if this guy wishes for some downtime. He’s so focused on his workload he can’t see (or imagine) anything else.

Opposite him, on the other side of the World, the High Priestess swings on her moon, knowledgeable but remote. She, too, has worked hard – albeit in a different way to the 10 of Wands – and made sacrifices along the way (perhaps literally) to get where she is. But she doesn’t look relaxed, or particularly happy.

Knowledge and worldly success can be important and valid life goals, but life plays out, and comes to an end, in the same general timeframe for everyone. Finding a balance between these things – and being able to simply enjoy those things that make us happy, are key to the good life.

Dreaming Way Tarot
By Rome Choi
Copyright © 2102 US Games
ISBN: 978-1-57281-712-8
Leave a Reply

