Deck of the week: Wild Green Chagallian Tarot

Wild Green Chagallian Tarot - 01

The Fool

Wild Green Chagallian Tarot - 10

Wheel of Fortune

There’s a cool thing on the Aeclectic Tarot forums where people spend a bit of time with a different deck every week, performing what’s called a “daily draw” of (usually) one to three cards, and thinking a bit about that with regard to their day-to-day activities. It’s a great way to connect with a deck you might be a little unsure of, or to make sure you get good rotation through your decks, if you have a large number of them.

My collection is around the 40-mark, and if you can believe it, mine is one of the smaller collections. I’m not a “collector” as such, but neither am I a spartan (however much I’d like to be) who is content with the imagery and symbolism of just one deck. I love looking at different artwork, and generally find it hard-going to work with a deck that I don’t find beautiful in some way.

In any case, I was reading a post that someone new had started about how difficult they were finding it to read the Major Arcana, the twenty-two “trumps” that feature in a deck, such as The Sun, The Emperor, or Death. Usually these cards represent more abstract ideas, and as a result be a little more tricky to get a handle on (although most people consider the Court Cards to be trickiest, as these can represent people, different aspects of the querant, or even different scenarios, depending on how many show up in a reading).

I was thinking to myself that in general I am quite comfortable with the Majors, but then realised that I don’t really read much with the only majors-only deck I own, the Wild Green Chagallian Tarot. Certainly not because of its looks – it’s the most beautiful deck I own – but more precisely because I never really feel I have a situation that requires a “majors only” sort of reading. These “traditionally” are reserved for when you’re having some sort of spiritual crisis, or deep conflict. (Though now I’ve just written that sentence I see how ridiculous it is. Just who it is that says this, I have no idea. It’s a sort of accepted shorthand, I guess.)

In any case, I’m bucking the trend this week, and using my majors-only deck for my “light” weekly readings.

Note: I am currently in the process of getting permission from Penelope Cline and Fig Tree Press to include these images on the blog. For the time being I’ll include these (and it appears that taking photos of spreads is completely OK), as the images themselves have been taken from the Fig Tree Press page, not scanned myself.

Wild Green Chagallian Tarot
By Penelope Cline
copyright © Fig Tree Press
(No ISBN)
Leave a Reply

